## Republic of the Philippines Department of Health NATIONAL NUTRITION COUNCIL

## NNC GOVERNING BOARD Resolution No. 7, Series of 2019

## Appointment of Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Government Focal Point in the Philippines

**WHEREAS,** the Philippines' country registration to the Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) Movement was approved in 2014 through NNC Governing Board Resolution No. 2, S 2014, the 51<sup>st</sup> country to join the SUN Movement;

**WHEREAS**, the NNC Technical Committee unanimously agreed for NNC to be the SUN Government Focal Point in a meeting held in 2016;

WHEREAS, former Assistant Secretary of Health and Executive Director IV Maria-Bernardita T. Flores acted as the SUN Government Focal Point of the Philippines from 2014 until February 2019 when she retired from government service;

WHEREAS, in view of her retirement, a new SUN Government Focal Point has to be appointed by the Board;

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED,** that the NNC Governing Board approves for Dr. Azucena M. Dayanghirang, being the highest official of the NNC to serve as the new SUN Government Focal Point;

**RESOLVED FURTHER**, that as the SUN Government Focal Point, Dr. Dayanghirang will convene the multisectoral platform on nutrition and will be the forefront of elevating nutrition in the national development agenda.

Approved this 5th day of July 2019.

FRAN UE III, MD, MSc

Secretary of Health and Chairperson National Nutrition Council Governing Board

Attested:

AZUCENA/M. DAYANGHIRANG, MD, MCH, CESO III Council Secretary and Executive Director National Nutrition Council NNC GOVERNING BOARD Resolution No. 7, Series of 2019

Appointment of SUN Government Focal Point in the Philippines

## **CONFORME:**

WILLIAM D. DAR Secretary of Agriculture

Vice-Chairperson, NNC Governing Board

Acting Secretary of Budget and Management Member, NNC Governing Board

SI

Secretary of Labor and Employment Member, NNC Governing Board

**ROLANDO JOSELITO D. BAUTISTA** Secretary of Social Welfare and Development Member, NNC Governing Board

RAMON M. LOPEZ Secretary of Trade and Industry Member, NNC Governing Board

EDUARDO . ANO

Secretary of the Interior and Local Government Vice-Chairperson, NNC Governing Board

BRIONES

Secretary of Education Member, NNC Governing Board

. J. Wow

FÓRTUNATO T. DELA PEÑA Secretary of Science and Technology Member, NNC Governing Board

ERNESTO M. PERNIA Secretary of Socio-Economic Planning National Economic and Development Authority Member, NNC Governing Board